Beginning my Career in Real Estate, but I have many questions

3 Replies

I am brand new to real estate. I was advised to start an LLC, open a business bank account, and then seek out investors. What do I need to do to establish a relationship with an investor, and what questions do I need to ask to get my new business off the ground?

I'm a real estate investor for nearly 40 years, and I have yet to place my rental properties into an LLC or use a business account.

The idea of an LLC is to mitigate your liabilities, and this could be taken care of with adequate insurance. A personal checking account cost less fee wise than a business account. For instance, I have more than one personal checking account at a major bank, and it's fee free due to the banking relationship. One of them is for my rentals. Also I have a business checking with another major bank, for another business I have which I'm paying $15.00/month in fees.

Also, online transfer of funds between personal checking is fee free. It may not be so between a personal account and a business account. For my rentals, I often have to shift funds between personal and business when funds run short.

Getting a mortgage via an LLC is more costly, if you can get it, and you have personally guaranty anyway. I had an LLC for a business , new, with no history and I have to guaranty everything. Getting insurance is a lot more complex. Normally if people sue you, they sue the LLC and you anyway. I know a business owner who use an S Corp, to shield his liability, bought liability insurance, and his insurance agent didn't know enough to add an endorsement including him. Net result was he was sued for $2 million, and the S Corp and him was sued, and he was not personally covered. They told him to get a lawyer for himself, as the insurance company attorney is for the S Corp. He thought the S Corp shielded him, and it did not. He apparently didn't use a knowledgeable insurance agent.