Skip to content
Buying & Selling Real Estate

User Stats

Votes
James Piercy
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
Nightmare 1st Property - Does it get better?

James Piercy
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Austin, TX
Posted Jan 2 2018, 15:30

Hello Everyone,

I currently live in one of the most expensive areas of the country (Bay Area, CA). I work in tech at an amazing company (Facebook) and I am extremely fortunate to have a relatively high salary for my age. Despite this salary and having a large total savings, I am unable to afford a 1 bed/1 bath fixer upper condo for 1+ million (the going rate in this area).

Being in tech I keep an eye on areas that have exponential tech growth and Austin caught my eye. I connected with a coworker in that office for a referral of a broke and realtor in that area and things were great. I had never been to Austin but for 6 months as soon as a property hit the MLS, I would review and debate writing offers. During this period of time 6 properties hit the market that I was very excited about. My interest was in renovated properties that would require little to no work, being remote, I did not want to have the extra stress an outdated property. Out of these 6 offers, all were place on the day of the property hitting the market and the very next day each seller asked for best and final.

The 6 property that I put an offer on, was a duplex that hit the MLS for $419k. I had my realtor and broker check the property out and give me their feedback on wether or not I should more forward. They agreed that it was a great location and I should submit an offer. My offer was accepted for $435k (25%/$110k down, 4.65int). It was a completely renovated, beautiful duplex with no tenants in either side (due to the renovations before sale).