• Rental Property Investor
  • Kansas City, MO
Votes |
First investment property: Help deciding on a property

Amanda Olvera
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Kansas City, MO
Posted Feb 17 2018, 08:32
Hi everyone, I am a new would-be investor in Kansas City, MO and looking to purchase my first deal. Currently, I own a family home that is a nice, newer 3/3 in a fantastic neighborhood and school district. However, it is a financial drain. This major expense is part of the reason I wanted to begin this journey in REI. Anyway, I’m ready to make a pretty drastic move and sell the house in order to start what I plan to become an eventual career in RE and the path to financial freedom. Also, to mention: I have two kids, 12 and 8 and am divorced so one income and one source of labor and time for rehab/reno(my Dad is a contractor and will be super helpful, though). By day, I’m a teacher so have steady income and excellent credit. I am approved for financing on all of the prospective deals so that isn’t an issue. I would do an FHA loan and occupy the place for one year. Then, move on to the next one. Do this 4-5 times before settling down into something. Okay, so I’ve looked at probably 30 places in the last month or so. A couple ‘off market’ deals(as in word of mouth through friends/associates), but mostly those I’ve found on CL, Zillow, or the MLS. As of today, the best two options would be: >>A duplex in Independence—owned by long time local investor who has been very helpful to me so far. 3/1.5 that rents for 900 each side. Asking 175k but would take 165k, maybe 160k. PITI below based on 165k. Gross rents: 1800 PITI: 1120 Maintenance: 270 (15%) He said w my Dad doing most work, I won’t have much in expenses here. I agree, but trying be conservative. Capex: 270 (15%) He also thinks this is on the high side, but trying to be conservative. Vacancy: 150 (per current owner of 15 years, has had 98% occupancy). Cash flow= -10.00. Seemingly, this is a bad deal. However, living in