Help Real situation!

25 Replies

Help, I'm going to give as many details as possible because I'm just getting started and could use some good advice. I currently own 5 properties including my primary. 2 of them I just purchased as bad shape rehabs that I wanted to fix and rent out, using the BRRR strategy. I had no cash so I put all of the repairs and purchases on a 50k loan at 25% and 50k credit cards at 25%. So now I am 100,000 dollars in debt. The properties appraise for 75k and 100k, for a total of 175,000, and my bank just gave me a check for 50k to refi the first property. What do I do now? Do I pay off the high-interest loan, then take the other refi and pay off the credit cards? Do I split up the money in some way, keep the high-interest loans and acquire more properties? I can't help but feel like having the high-interest debt is really risky. I need ideas and feedback. The collective rents from the two properties will be $1600/month.

So the question is: Do you pay off the debts at 25% interest or use the money for more investing?

Easy answer - what return on your cash will you get by using the money to invest?

Say you will get a 15% return - then pay off the debt as your money is costing you 25% and you are getting a 15% return on it.

Say you will get a return of 40% - then invest it as your money is costing you 25% and you are getting a 40% return on it

@Johnoson Crutchfield

Brie, the thought is that I could continue to build equity through the debt. Not sure I understand if your answer is to invest or pay off the debt. My next deal would be... by for 20k, invest 20k, appraise for 70k. BRRR and have another cash flowing property. By the way.... if I pay of the debt I don't have any money to keep securing properties.

@Johnoson Crutchfield  I would be concerned about the interest rates and also how the credit cards affect your ability to obtain additional mortgages.