Best Practice Finance Options to Scale Business

8 Replies

Hello from Houston Texas

I am an advanced newbie which means i am reading the books, listening to the podcasts so i can dive into my 1st S

FR buy. I am committed to the concept of building passive income and firmly believe in hard assets as a way to create legacy wealth.

I am a little unsure about the following, the financing piece. I am starting to understand that financing for SFR through conventional means is difficult. How do you scale the business from one to many buys? What is the best practice for a buy and hold strategy on SFR's? There are turn key resources that mention intro's to preferred lenders who will mortgage?

Thoughts and guidance are sincerely appreciated.,,,

@Jerry Polio I'm right there with you Jerry. There are so many options of scaling outside of conventional financing. For example, you can probably get a few properties with conventional financing, but by the time your looking to scale, you've hopefully built a solid reputation for yourself as an investor.

This reputation will allow you to tap into things like hard money lenders (if you can do some cash out refinances on earlier properties to pay off the higher rates hard lenders expect). You can also look to partner with other investors who may have the cash but not the time to invest. The better you can network in your area, the more individuals you'll have to potentially bring deals to. Another option is to ask the seller for seller financing terms where they carry the note and you won't have to worry about it affecting your debt to income (as calculated by banks).

I think that it will be harder to really scale with only SFRs. Consider having 20 SFRs spread across Houston vs having one 20 unit apartment. The economies of scale to that apartment building would give you much more time to look for other possible apartment deals to scale that way.