Memphis Market Oversaturated with Turnkey Providers??

25 Replies

I'm new to real estate investing. Been looking into the Memphis market as it's supposedly a hot market for rents. But as I run the numbers on most properties, they leave very little cash flow after expenses and the mortgage. 

I spoke to a Realtor and was told that investors have been unrealistically running up home values in the area. He also told me that if he finds a really good deal he's going to buy it himself instead of letting me see it. 

Anyway, it seems like there are too many turnkey investor groups in Memphis that are buying up all of the deals, so there's nothing left on the market for investors who aren't willing to go through the turnkey groups. Has anyone else seen this? Is it worthwhile going through what's on the market and submitting dozens of low-ball offers to see if one sticks? I'm mostly looking for positive cash-flow properties, but would like to have a built-in equity position, and the lower price would obviously help with cash-flow. 

I don’t know if your realtor is breaking any laws, or codes of conduct, but this....

“He also told me that if he finds a really good deal he's going to buy it himself instead of letting me see it.“

Is not a good sign. Why would he go out of his way to say he’s going to screw you? 

Maybe ask his broker if that’s how he runs his business, and all his realtors screw their customers over, or just this one?

Yeah that put me off too. But he’s a top 10 TN Realtor and is selling agent on a lot of investment properties out there. But doesn’t sound like he’s the right one for me with that mindset.

@Matthew Pruitt - Your profile doesn't show what market you are in.  Would Memphis be an out of state market for you?  If so, there are plenty of strong secondary and tertiary markets where you can find discounted properties that may produce a positive cash flow.