People are fleeing California, are you?

268 Replies

I was born and raised in CA. It's so heartbreaking to see what is happening to it.  A recent poll says that 46% of the people plan on leaving the bay area. Let's do our own poll (FOR CALIFORNIANS or those that recently left in the past 5 years) 

• Do you live in California? 
  • Have you lived in California in the past 5 years?
  • If so, where?
  • Will you be staying or leaving? 
  • Why?
  • What is your full time income producing job?  

I'll play! :)

• Do you live in California? Yes- SoCal
  • Have you lived in California in the past 5 years? Yes, 8 years total
  • If so, where? Palmdale 1 year, West LA 2 years, Venice 5 years
  • Will you be staying or leaving? STAYING! 
  • Why? I love CA. Best weather, diversity, very progressive, major outdoors options, couldn't imagine leaving
  • What is your full time income producing job? I'm a mutt- business owner, RE investor, property manager, business consultant, pilot

This may be something you enjoy reading 

http://lao.ca.gov/LAOEconTax/Article/Detail/265

CA does lose a lot of people, but it also gains higher educated/ higher income earners. 

My issue with polls is the statistics are so easy to skew. 

But your questions

Yes

all my life, currently Pasadena

staying

Beach, Mountains (hiking, rock climbing, mountain bike riding, snowboarding, skiing). The eclecticism of food, culture, art, music, diversity, education, entrepreneurship, film. The Juxtaposition of Beverly Hills fame and fortune to the Highland Park hipster. The list goes on. Obviously weather.

Business Owner, Realtor, Investor 

California is one of the most diverse states to live.  Survey polls only speak for the people who were paid to participate - millions of people love living in California and don't plan on leaving.