First deal might fall through bcs. of bad contract

18 Replies

Hi folks,

This is a bit of a new member introduction and request for feedback on my first deal at the same time. I'm currently a grad student living in SoCal, and my wife and I have decided to start building a real estate portfolio. I've spent about a year listening to the podcasts (over a hundred) on my commute to campus, and reading investing books including Brandon Turner's and David Greene's. I decided to look for my first deal in my hometown in central Arkansas, basically using Greene's book as an instruction manual. I haven't posted much since I figure my inexperience contributes little that isn't already well-known, but man I could use some feedback on this situation.

I found an 8 unit property, two 4-plexes on a lot, 2b/1ba each, very new, renting toward the top of the rent range for the area ($700/mo). I found an agent who has been diligent and responsive with my questions, and quick to put in my low-ball offer.

The offer is contingent upon breaking it up into separate residential loans on each 4-plex (for the 30 year am).

Then I started thinking: you know, there's nothing in this real estate contract that says I have an out if it turns out the financials aren't as rosy as advertised. Big oops. Fortunately the seller countered, and I haven't accepted yet, so I'm not stuck. The numbers still work so I want to accept the counter-offer with an addendum specifying that I'm buying the property on the condition that current rents are as advertised, subject to verification, etc. etc. However, here's the problem. My agent doesn't want to add any such verbiage. I am confused.

The main protests he raises are things like (paraphrased):

• "The seller advertised 700/mo on the MLS, so if it turns out he misrepresented, that would be a breach of contract." (The problem is nothing in the contract talks about rent at all, so I don't see how it could be breached thereby).