What would you do...?

23 Replies

So let me start off by saying I am still new to real estate investing so go easy on me, but not too easy (I'm still a man dammit!).

Let's say I found an 8-plex that has been without love for a few years Estimated 20k repairs (Brick, 10yr. old roof, 100% rented, gutters falling off, needs paint, shrubs grown up, etc., etc.) Each unit brings in $650 for a total of $5200/mo. Expenses include: Taxes $3000/yr., Insurance $400/mo (might be cheaper) Tenants pay utilities. 10%managment, 9% repairs/maintenance, 9% Capex, 5%vacancies.

Listed for 330K but I know I need to buy it for 228k.  Not a lot to put down and trying not to use all of my cash.

I know it's a solid deal and the numbers work in my favor but the question is,

How would YOU pay for this deal if it was YOU?

-Seller Financing?

-Partnership?

-Hard money?

-Private Money?

-Lease options?

AND GO!

I'm also a new upcoming investor & I'm also an agent. Based on what I have studied & learned I would decide to try a Partnership so I can start getting the experience. A partner preferably with experience with real estate investing so he/she can guide me to do the right things. I would make sure my partner is someone who has money but no time to analyze deals. 

@Jason Gott how much money do you have? If you can get the seller to sell for 100k less then they’re asking in this market hats off to you but I find that unlikely.

I would probably use private money but that’s going to be hard to do if you have no experience.

So if I’d used private money before I’d do that but if you haven’t, the likely best (read most likely option) would be for you to pass on this.

Use your own money/time/effort to do your own deals, on your own before partnering or using someone else’s money.

Start small and grow bigger over time. When I acquire my first property of this size people will look at me and say “how does a guy in his early thirties do that”