Is Miami too expensive to buy for renting?

26 Replies

Hey Tania,

I think it greatly depends on what you are looking for. I’ll admit I am envious sometimes of how easy many members make it seem to pickup deals with a 2% gross rent to purchase price. That’s honestly unheard of down here, usually my goal is to see 1% of the gross rent in purchase price in an area that shows signs of expansion. I’ve met investors down here who take on other strategies such Airbnb, ALF, corporate housing, etc just to find avenues for increased income. I’m sure other members will pitch in and give their experiences. Feel free to reach out if you have any questions!

Hi @Tania Gonzalez Casal . I am new to REI and live down in South Fla. I recently went to my first local REI meetup and the majority of the experienced investors there are currently investing out of state. Might be smart to look into other markets if you are looking for long distance investing. Curious as to what intrigued you about Miami vs. other markets, being from Michigan? Best of luck!

Thank you all for your reply! I'm actually from Miami. I don't know why I came out Michigan, I guess I tried to input Miami and it came out MI. I live here that's why I know how crazy the prices are down here but I also know how fast the market grows. The disadvantage I see in investing away from your town is that you have to be travelling and you kind of loose control over your property. Any experience on that?

Thank you!!!! :-)

@Tania Gonzalez Casal Price in South FL might be expensive but areas in other parts of the country can only dream of the capital appreciation that you folks get. 

@Gabe Amedee In most big markets, it is practically impossible to hit the 2% rule. The combination of income and capital appreciation gain you will get will far exceed investments in most other parts of the country.