Skip to content
Buying & Selling Real Estate

User Stats

Votes
Arpan Gurung
  • Oklahoma City, OK
Votes |
Can I resale a property just bought on a conventional loan?

Arpan Gurung
  • Oklahoma City, OK
Posted Jul 15 2018, 17:37
I was wondering, can you buy a property and flip it just a little bit and sell it for a small profit with in couple months? Does the bank allow you to do that if it’s a conventional loan or does it have to be your own private money or hard money lender? Is the conventional loans only for rental properties? Or how long do you have to hold it before you can sell it? Thank you for the answers in advance

User Stats

Votes
DeWitt Gibson
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • USA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • USA
Replied Jul 15 2018, 18:08

I would recommend reading your loan docs. Look for terms like "early payoff penalty" and the like. 

As a conventional loan officer, I am highly discouraged from originating loans if I suspect it will be paid off in a very short amount of time. In fact, if a loan is paid off or goes delinquent within the first six months after closing, they charge me a fine against what they paid me in the first place. 

I won't say it's impossible, but it's bad practice. 

User Stats

Votes
Caleb Heimsoth
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Durham, NC
Votes |
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Durham, NC
Replied Jul 15 2018, 18:26

DeWitt Gibson this isn’t related to the original post but you just basically confirmed what I’d heard too regarding the fine if it’s paid off to soon.

So my question is what’s the minimum amount of time a bank needs a loan to be kept for them to make their needed profit margin? If I take out a 100k 30 year fixed loan but only have it for say 5 years does that still give the bank their needed profit etc?

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats