Is the SF Bay Area sellers market easing back?

4 Replies

Hi all, For those in the Bay Area we’ve seen some crazy price hikes. Do people get the sense that the market is starting to cool off? I have seen a few articles about Seattle’s markets starting and would like to get your feeling/data about the Bay Area. Thanks in advance

@Doug Dattawalker - I live and breathe SF real estate 24/7 (since it's what I do for a living), and I can confidently say that the overall market isn't really cooling off at all here. While people may be waiting for there to be a "crash" here, it won't happen. We are due for a slight correction, but those generally quite nuanced and they happen on a neighborhood-by-neighborhood basis (example: the prices drop 2%-5% for a quarter or two in a specific neighborhood).

Q2 set a benchmark. 1/3 of all SFH sales were sold for $2m+, and the median sale price for a SFH was $1.62m, which was a 13% YTY increase. The only section of the market which does see regular cool-off periods is the luxury market (which are properties above $2.5m+). This segment of the market is *extremely* seasonal, and is generally is hit the hardest in December and Mid-Summer. But most properties under the $2.5m pricepoint (which is considered a "starter home") are still quite competitive - particularly single-family homes versus condos (which are marginally more plentiful).

Inventory is still at an all-time low, and we've basically accepted that as the new normal for the past few years - especially due to the fact that there is practically no development in the SFH arena - only for new apartments/condos - and those can barely keep up with the demand.