Should I buy more or pay down the mortgages?

5 Replies

I'm fairly new at being a REI. I closed on my first SFR in January of 2017. I now have 3 SFR and 1 triplex. So, 6 doors.

I put at least 20% down on each. I have two with 5/1 ARM's and two with fixed rate, 30 year mortgages.

The mortgages are roughly $36K, $70.5K, $75K and $162K.

I'm retired with a pension and I have 2 PT jobs. My wife is still working FT.

I also have a HELOC with about $20K on it.

I'm 50 years old. Currently, I'm paying a tiny bit extra on each mortgage. I'm building up a cash reserve for each property. And, if I had an expensive emergency, I can get the funds to cover it.

So, I'm trying to figure out my best game plan. Do I try to pay off the $36K mortgage quickly, say in 2-5 years?

Do I just continue to pay a little extra on each one.

Do I save so I can pay cash for a BRRR house or maybe a $45K renovated, move in ready house or do I take that same money and just pay off the $36K mortgage?

@Mark K. Given that you’re retired and 50 you probably don’t want debt for the next 30 plus years. So I would pay off the low mortgage first and then go from there

@ Caleb Heimsoth, one thing I forgot to mention is that I'm currently saving roughly 60% of my pension.  I just started one very PT job that pays not much, but I can put all of that cash either in savings or pay down a mortgage. 

Part of me says if I currently have close to $17K in annual positive cash flow, after expenses and vacancy's, repairs and cap ex held out, that I should pick up another 2-3 house to get that cash flow over $25K. 

The other part of me says to pay down and off the $36K mortgage and HELOC, and then get more rentals, perhaps paying cash for them. Or, close to paying full cash if house is $45K or so.