How do I analyze my primary residence?

5 Replies

I'm looking at a 3 flat right now and one unit I will live in and the other units I will rent out. This isn't a house hack situation where I'm going to rehab and then flip. I plan to live there for the long haul and it's turnkey, but I want to be smart about the investment. 

Any insights or tips on how to look at the numbers? I'm a PRO member so I can use the BP calculators. 

Thanks in advance

@Justin Johnson I don’t know where you live but invest most of your time in researching the rental comps in the area and see how much you’ll cash flow monthly. Overall the Math is pretty easy calculate your mortgage or whatever method you’re using to finance. Add in what your projected rent will be and see if that satisfies you in whatever goal you’re trying to accomplish. I don’t know what numbers you’re trying to hit but I will say the deals are often found when you put in the sweat equity and fix them up. It’s very difficult to find a desirable deal for something that is turnkey Especially when the market is reaching its peak.

I would use the BP rental property calculator.  It might be cash flow negative when you're only getting paid rent on two units, but that doesn't make it a bad investment unless it's going to cost you more than what you'd pay for housing otherwise.  

It would hurt to run the numbers both ways (renting 2 units vs. all of them), especially if all the units are currently occupied and you're going to have to wait for a vacancy before you move in.  Life circumstances can change, and if you find yourself needing a different living situation, you'll have peace of mind knowing that you can rent this place profitably.  

We all have to live some place. Better to have 2 tenants helping you to subsidize your housing costs and help build you wealth and than you paying rent to another investor helping to build his wealth.