• Rental Property Investor
  • Atlanta, GA
Votes |
Investing in Virginia

Account Closed
  • Atlanta, GA
Posted Dec 23 2018, 01:24

Anyone here investing in Northern, Glen Allen or Richmond area of Virginia?  How is the market there and your experience?  I'm a newbie looking  to invest out-of-state and researching these areas for buy and hold.  Please share your experience.

User Stats

Votes
Ryan Koehler
  • Arlington, VA
Votes |
  • Arlington, VA
Replied Dec 23 2018, 03:32

@Stacey Parker-Herman Hi Stacey. Northern Virginia is a very strong real estate market and has only gotten stronger in recent weeks with the Amazon HQ announcement. Prices in the area are very high and make cash flow numbers on an investment difficult to maneuver. While cash flow is generally less in “Nova”, it’s a market that is one of the most recession proof in the country because of the number of quality jobs in the area. Appreciation is historically strong here.

User Stats

Votes
Shera Gregory
  • Investor
  • Richmond, VA
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Richmond, VA
Replied Dec 23 2018, 06:22

Hi @Account Closed -- there is a very active investor community here in the Richmond area. As with most urban areas there is a wide variety of neighborhoods within a 25 mile radius. Tools like rentometer.com can be very useful (I use it every time I want to analyze a potential buy & hold here). However, you need to look at the detail, not just the average because in some sections properties within a half mile of each other can rent from $800 to $1400. You will find lower priced properties in Hopewell and Petersburg just south of Richmond but the rents are lower and the properties can be in VERY bad condition. Do you have anyone local to be your "boots on the ground"? I think that will be very important in this market. Good luck! Send me a PM if you want to discuss further sometime.

Steadily logo
Steadily
|
Sponsored