Cash Purchase vs Conventional Financing

27 Replies

Good evening from the Midwest! I've come to ask for feedback while acknowledging that I'm early enough in my journey that I can't yet offer much in return other than gratitude and it's hard to pay the bills with gratitude, I know. I'm building skills so I'll have more to offer soon!

I'm a new pro member and I will be making my first deal this year. One of the issues I've been pouring over forum posts to try to learn about are the advantages and disadvantages of cash purchases vs conventional financing for a buy and hold investor. I have the resources to proceed with way, but I'm having trouble being decisive about what will be best for my business.

A cash purchase feels like a better negotiating position for my offer and like a more compartmentalized risk if there are problems (as in, you can lose the cash without damaging your credit if the worst happens.) Conventional financing seems like a good way to get more leverage/cash flow benefit out of less liquid capital, but a poor result could have a more lasting impact. And around and around I go.

Would any more experienced hands out there be willing to offer a bit of guidance to help with my financing paralysis?

@Ryan Pozzi I think it depends on the kind of deal you get. If it's a house you find off-market which the seller wants a quick close, cash is the way to go. It'll give you a better offer for the same price and they don't have to wait the ~45 days for the mortgage to go through.

On the other hand, if you find a good place on the MLS, a lot of sellers I've found don't really care about the extra days to close. Of course, a cash offer will always be stronger, but I've found a number of sellers who sort of expect the buyer to need a mortgage and just figure it's part of the process.

Of course it also depends on your financial situation!