User Stats

Votes
Ellen Daniel
Votes |
Real Estate Investing via self-directed Solo 401k

Ellen Daniel
Posted Jun 18 2019, 20:38

Hi everyone!  

I'm a newbie currently doing a house hack.  I'm hoping to continue investing and would like to use rollover funds from a previous employer to a self-directed solo 401k for the purchase of my next property.  I recently reached out to a CPA to see if I could get more information on the tax implications of pursuing this path of investing.  He basically told me this was a horrible idea and it's virtually impossible to do this type of investing without violating IRS rules and coming out with a huge tax bill.  I would love it if the community could provide some tips on pursuing this route of investing.  Would love to hear some feedback on methods for doing this safely and within the constraints of IRS requirements. 

Thanks!

User Stats

Votes
Justin Windham
Pro Member
  • Solo 401k provider
  • Denver & Hilton Head
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Solo 401k provider
  • Denver & Hilton Head
Replied Jun 18 2019, 21:16

@Ellen Daniel

Welcome to Bigger Pockets! While there are some key concepts to understand before jumping in (such as the prohibited transaction rules), self-directed investing can be a really powerful alternative to keeping retirement funds locked into the stock market. Some CPAs has a healthy concern when advising clients and others either have ulterior motives or a lack of understanding that leads to an overstatement of the risks. There is a lot of information on BP about self-directed IRAs and Solo 401k plans. Many people are using the accounts with great success. I'd recommend reaching out to a few providers who can give you a better idea of your options and the pitfalls to avoid. You can also get referrals to CPAs who are more realistic and knowledgeable about these structures.

User Stats

Votes
Kenneth Garrett
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Florida Panhandle/Illinois
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor