30k in pocket. Where to start?

12 Replies

Hello,

I have been saving up and and reading the basics for several months (Rich Dad Poor Dad, BRRR, most of bigger pockets books, ABCs of Real Estate Investing, etc.)

I have saved up over 30,000 and I’m wondering if I even have enough to make a dent. I live in Nashville and I’m considering house hacking but Nashville’s home prices are outrageous and their duplex prices drive me mad.

I’m curious out long distance or flipping, both of which are intriguing but also seem like a large hurdle.

I’m just curious if anyone has any advice for early investors and how you started. Should I start moving or keep stacking?

Thanks, Elijah

People on here will tell you that you're some-amount-of-years too late to be investing in Nashville. It's not the end of the world though. If you're looking to invest, but don't necessarily have the stomach to do out of state investing, there are plenty of people on here that invest in Memphis and/or Chattanooga and are cashflowing. 

With you being in Nashville, you're not that far from either place, especially Chattanooga. Chattanooga is growing quickly thanks to EPB and Volkswagen investing heavily in the city. Amazon has a decent size presence here, and there's also Unum which is a large corporation that has an office here too. 

@Elijah Radford long distance and flipping are two very different things. Flipping is probably a bigger hurdle. OOS investing is pretty straightforward these days once a management company is selected. Every other step in the purchase process is going to mirror purchasing a rental locally. 

I think both are valid choices. The one you choose is going to depend on what you want. Starting off as a flipper is going to require you to be a pretty active investor compared to buying a rental. If you want to do something a little more hands off while you gain experience take the rental route. If you want to put in the work and generate revenue, flip stuff.