Beginner Investing in First Multi-Unit

15 Replies

Good morning all,

I am relatively new at real estate investing. For some time, I've been reading & watching BP podcasts regarding rentals. I feel that I've done most of the ground work, minus actually buying a property. My goal is to make my first investment at the beginning of 2020, but I am in need of some guidance from you all. Recently I had found a duplex near my house that is currently fully rented. I'd like to get some input on the numbers I worked together below: 

Purchase Price (assumed) - $61,000 

Down Payment - 20% 

• Monthly Total Rental - $1,200
    • Mortgage - $227
    • Tax - $110
    • Ins. - $75
    • Vacancy (7%) - $84
    • Repairs (5%) - $60
    • Cash Flow - $644

Cash on Cash: ~55% assuming additional cash for fees 

NOI - $787

Cap Rate - 15.4%

Thoughts? To my eye, it seems like a deal that I would benefit from, but I am concerned about an unaccounted calculation on my part. I'd like to add that I am from the Pittsburgh area. 

Thank you. 

Why are you assuming purchase price?  Is that what the property is listed at, or are you offering a lower price? Or, are you just hoping to offer that to the owner and he will take it?  

On the surface, the math looks good.  However, I would confirm a purchase price and then run your numbers again.  When I analyze properties I buy for me, I have a minimum return expectation.  If I can't get it, then I will walk away from the deal.  Try to figure out what the max you can pay is and still get the return you desire.  It will make it easier for you to negotiate when it comes time to buy.  I'm not saying to offer that out of the gate, just know how much you are willing to give before the deal is no longer of value you to.