What to ask Michigan realtor about investment property ?

12 Replies

Hi! I'm completely new to real estate and my goal is to start investing, particularly in multi-unit properties. I'm in the metro detroit area, and it's been challenging to find multi units on platforms like Zillow, trulia, etc.

Anyway, I just found a newly listed duplex in the area (both units are rented!) and have an appointment to speak with the realtor this afternoon.

What are some key questions to ask?? And things to look out for? Please advise :-)

There are still a ton of off-market properties available in the Detroit area. What realtor are you speaking to? The listing agent? If so, that's a bad move. Search for a Detroit-area investor-friendly agent in here and then confirm with Zillow reviews that they also invest and take care of their clients. If you are inquiring on a duplex, you want to know if the utilities and everything is separated for the units, the rent roll, the securities being held, how long the leases are for, how long the tenants have been there, if any of the units will be provided vacant at closing, what the owner pay is for utlities, gas, water, sewer, etc.

@Jonathan Greene

Jonathon, thanks for all of these questions to ask! Regarding the role of the person that I’ll be chatting with, I’m not sure. I pressed the ‘Contact Agent’ button on Zillow. But I’ll definitely be keeping that in mind regarding WHO I should be talking to.

If you're just going with whatever agent responds to you, you're likely to buy something that's not a very good deal!

Ask yourself, other than selling you a property to get their commission, what else is an agent like this providing you?

Logically, find a good Realtor, an unbiased Inspector and an even better PMC.

They are all critical to finding a solid rental property with good returns and keeping it that way. They should also be a good "check & balance" for each other.