Manufactured but not Mobile

11 Replies

Hello BP Community! This is my first time posting here... thank you for your replies and insights. I have searched the forums but have not found a thread that matches my situation. I have the opportunity to purchase an off-market doublewide in an easy-to-rent area (SW Colorado where housing is tight), the land is included in the deal, the doublewide sits on a foundation and has been deeded together with the land. The math is there, I can purchase the property and complete the remodel for $120k all in (Seller financed during the repair and seasoning period). ARV for similar properties in this area (manufactured homes) is about $200k, so I plan to use the BRRRR method to recover some if not all of the initial investment and then rent it out long-term.

My question is this: I am not familiar with the bank's perspective on manufactured housing, or on the long-term issues that may come from owning a manufactured house. What do I need to know before jumping on this apparent deal and will I even be able to refinance the property given the manufactured construction? Thank you for your responses! 

@Mac T. is that you? So - let's make sure you are talking about a "manufactured home" and not a "modular home". Manufactured will most likely have steel beams underneath and be designed to work with or without a permanent foundation. Assuming it is manufactured, the next question becomes what year was it manufactured and does it have a HUD plate on it? This is a huge factor in how banks will finance the ultimate purchaser. You can google HUD certification on manufactured homes to learn more - but the important date to remember is: June 15, 1976 - built before then is pre-HUD and lending is scarce at best.