Investing in a Church

13 Replies

There are a few church buildings for sale in my area, and the listings have grabbed my attention since many of the buildings are nice and in good condition - for whatever reason the parish has moved into a larger building or closed up. Has anyone ever purchased a physical church building and leased it to a religious organization or done a creative remodel and used it as office space or for something else?

Any good suggest stories with numbers?

I have no personal experience buying/leasing/converting a church, but I found these two reads interesting.

http://baltimoreguide.com/http:/baltimoreguide.com/local-fitness-guru-establishes-a-new-kind-of-sanctuary-in-fell%E2%80%99s-point/

and

http://articles.baltimoresun.com/2013-12-18/entertainment/bal-baltimore-theater-communitys-most-memorable-experiences-of-2013_1_baltimore-performance-kitchen-ian-tresselt-baltimore-rock-opera-society

Most churches would not pass my tenant screening.

Imagine getting an application where the source of income is: "I just ask a bunch of people to give me some money every week" ;)

But I've always thought it would be cool to turn one of those unused sanctuaries into a performance space. Even started looking into it once, but the overhead was killer.

@John K.