Can commercial property (non-apartment) be wholesaled like residential?

5 Replies

I am a noob, but curious if a smiliar techinique can be used in commercial - i.e. finding motivated sellers, assigning contracts, etc.  Thanks!

I would imagine it would work but I have not personally seen it. If someone brought me the right deal at the right price I'd consider it. I would put the payment for the contract based on performance of my own diligence and if I bought the property or not. For the most part, commercial seems a bit more complicated than flipping an SFR contract like this. I would imagine most brokers would not be super excited about working with someone doing this, but..with all that said, I could see it working if you could find and tie up the right asset classes.

Can it be done? Yes, it can be. Should a noob even think about it, NO. I'd say your risks of messing up would go up at least 10 times.

Thing about commercial, owner are usually seasoned RE business people, like their attorney answers their phone calls.

You use guru wholesaling techniques of find a seller, then go beat the bushes for a buyer means you may be taking that property off the market. Commercial properties can be for sale without being on a listing, most are not listed on the MLS. Most are quietly sold through the industry specific to building usage, so unless you're in that loop, you don't even know if it is being marketed.

You tie up a property under a sale contract and fail to perform or it is found that you had no ability to buy, they can sue your tail off.

If you can actually buy and later you assign a contract, yes, that is done.

If you know that a buyer wants a property, you might get that done, but any buyer wanting a building like the subject will likely all ready know of the building. They don't have birddogs or wholesalers chasing down some $5M property!