Advice on Deal

9 Replies

Hey guys, I’d like to ask your opinion on a potential deal. I’m going back and forth on this one and would like some opinions from people who have some more experience than I do.

Some background: 

I am a small business owner that needed an office, so in 2012 I started searching for properties that would be less expensive now but more desirable at a future date. In 2012, I found and purchased a one acre property with a 2 unit, 3,500 square foot building on it, between a major university and the city’s downtown. I knew that the university was pouring money into the area around their end, and the city was pouring money into the downtown area on the other end. I had a good idea that eventually they would meet in the middle which is where my 1 acre property is located.

There is a dilapidated 1 acre, 5 unit, 6,000 square foot building next door. In 2014 I asked the owner if he’d sell it to me and he did. I now own 2 acres, 7 units, and a vacant lot between the university and downtown. In 2012 I had a good idea that redevelopment would eventually reach my properties. Now I know it will.

I’ve already started rehabbing the strip malls, I reached out and got a couple awesome tenants to take a chance and move in, but I still have a ways to go to get these properties the way I’d like them.

Several weeks ago, a developer asked me if I'd be interested in selling the properties. He asked for my rents and NOI. My current NOI is $60,636/year. I know that within three years, with the renovations and reaching out that I'm doing, I know that I could get NOI up to $79,200.

Property Fact: Zoning on the 2 acres allows for about 100 residential and 50,000 of commercial space.

So if I were to set a price and sell this, does anyone have any insight into pricing this based upon them approaching me, current NOI, NOI in three years, and knowing it's highest and best use?