• San Diego, CA
Votes |
Unknown Truths About Financing Commercial & Multi-Family RE

David Hamilton
  • Lender
  • San Diego, CA
Posted Jun 30 2017, 13:04

Hello All,

I am new to the Bigger Pockets forums but have been listening to the podcasts for several months now. Although I certainly get a TON of value from the platform already, I found that more sophisticated, nuanced advice for financing commercial and multi-family real estate was sorely needed. 

I think one of the common misconceptions of commercial/multi-family is that the loan underwriting process is similar to residential. This could not be further from the truth. Residential (1-4 units) is almost completely dependent on the financial strength of the individual borrower(s) (income, credit score, debt/equity etc). In contrast, commercial and multi-family (5+ units) underwriting is MUCH more dependent on the metrics of the property itself. In order to qualify for commercial/multi-family conventional financing, there are two basic parameters that need to be met. 

1. The Net Operating Income (NOI) of the given property must be in excess of 1.15x-1.25x the loan payment

2. The total loan to value must not exceed 75-80%

As long as these two metrics are met, a borrower would be well on his/her way to approval. Of course, if the individual borrower has a checkered history (bankrupticies, foreclusures, felonies, etc.) there might be an issue. With that said, I have been able to secure pretty good terms for borrowers with a less than stellar financial profile simply because the property itself was such a gem.