Seeking guidence to purchase first commecial property in Houston!

17 Replies

Hello Dear Sirs!

I am an engineer having a 9-5 job with oil giant in Houston Texas area. I am very much interested to invest in commercial real estate property as my parallel investment income. I would be very much interested to learn basics to evaluate profitable investment in commercial real estate. Lease terms, national tenants, lease length, lease types, cap rate etc. I am very much interested in small strip joint with national tenants that have lease laid out until another 8 to 10 years. Would someone please guide me through the basics of investment? Goal is to invest up to 1M property with up to 10 % down payment where tenants leases laid out for another 8 to 10 years and cap rate of at least 6 %. Seeking wisdom from learned ones. Best Regards, Kenny  

@Ken Thakar

Typically, speak with a commercial real estate agent and explain what you have your eyes set on.

They will explain what properties are currently available for your target area. Then they will get the flyers or brochures and review which ones you want to see.

After seeing the properties, you will narrow down your selection and the agent will provide whatever financial analysis that is needed to determine if the numbers make sense.

Commercial lending usually wants 30% to 40% down. There is the possibility of seller financing. It depends on the situation.

once you narrow down your options, the agent will submit a letter of intent that spells out what you are offering. If the seller is interested, negotiations will continue until you have a final set of numbers. Then you will move to contract and the due diligence period.

It can usually take 6 months to 12 months to search, identify, and close on a property depending on availability. If you have a decent amount of inventory in your area, it's just a matter of narrowing which ones make sense. If the inventory is tight, it can take longer.