Should I pull the trigger?

25 Replies

Full disclosure: My partner and I are complete newbies to wholesaling and commercial real estate. We had no intention of getting into commercial, but in the process of looking for residential properties to wholesale we came across a FSBO commercial deal. It's a 2,000SF former bank branch on an acre lot. Solid construction on a corner lot with plenty of parking. The owner (he was using it as a small church) took a liking to me and my partner, saying, "I like you. How can we make this work?"

I did a crash course in evaluating commercial property, and here are the numbers based on the nearest comps (in terms of potential lease/SF): Most recent tax appraisal: $240,000. Asking price: $230,000. He chose not to list with a realtor who wanted to price it at $260,000. No major rehab that I can tell -- I'm estimating $10k for cosmetics. EGI ~ $32,000 (based on triple net); NOI ~ $20,000; Cash on Return ~ 8.7%; Cap Rate ~ 7.8%; DSCR: 1.5. Zoning says it can be used as restaurant or recreation or retail with a site plan review.

There aren't many comps, so the numbers are rough. I have an attorney who can hold my hand through the process. I'm thinking I make an offer (below asking?) and then market hard to find my cash buyer. But this is my first time around the block AND IT'S SCARY to contemplate pulling the trigger! Any words of wisdom or encouragement out there? Heeeeeeeelp....

@David Ronka

I manage really estate for a bank and can tell you that from experience $10k to make it market ready for retail or restaurant seems awfully low, unless you're just demo'ing teller counters, coupon booths, partitions, etc.

Doesn't sound like there's a vault but if there was that could easily cost up to $100k to remove.

Going from a bank layout to traditional retail/restaurant (or vice versa) - if not evaluated prudently - can be cost prohibitive in your deal.

I'd look at highest and best use then revisit your rehab budget more closely.