How much to charge for commercial property management?

10 Replies

I have been a residential property manager for 9 years and not until recently do I have an opportunity to write a proposal for a commercial management in San Francisco Bay area.

It's a office+flex mixed use building with a total of 6 tenants and 40k sqft. One NNN lease and 5 leases are full service. I estimate the gross rent should be between $50k to $80k.

There is some common area janitorial, landscaping, signage i need to manage. Responsibilities include collecting rent, paying operating expenses, be the first point of contact of any issue.

What do you think other commercial management companies will charge for some thing like this? 

40k sq ft building and 50,000 gross rents sounds way off.

If rents were 20 a foot and 40k building was full that is 800,000 gross expected before other costs. Even at 10 bucks a foot 400,000.

Typically with retail the larger the building size the lower management fee. I see on small strip center under 5,000 maybe 5%. Over 10,000 about 4%. Over 30,000 and up about 3.5%. The big centers 100k plus or larger maybe 3% is as low as it goes that I have seen. 

I can't say for the state but that size of building typically 4% management fee of gross rents including cam. Now it should be extra if you are watching over build outs and being the GC etc. I have seen management charge more for those type services above the regular management.

Since it is mixed use and not straight retail maybe could get 5%.

Originally posted by @Lex Shan :

Thanks Joel for pointing it out. I meant monthly gross rent, not annual gross rent. Does it make more sense?

Just put various conditions in the agreement to reflect additional work. Repairs, invoices, trips, showings, etc.

Repairs and evictions will consume most of your time for older/lower quality buildings, while turnover or vacancy has its own time needs. I've seen NOI annual bonuses for PM too, can align interests in the long term.