How do I buy a large commercial building?

8 Replies

Background:

I have lived in my personal residence for 3 years. I house hacked and rented 2 spare rooms on Airbnb that paid for the mortgage, utilities and more each month. I have done renovations and and sold the house and will have 60k cash after closing next week. Some of that will go to pay off some debt and the rest I want to invest in a commercial building.

I have several years experience owning a short term rental business with 10 apartments that I signed a multi year lease on. This has given me a great deal of business experience in the hospitality industry and real estate market.

I now want to buy an actual hotel or mixed used building.

The hotel is 30 rooms, in a great location with new hotels being built around, it needs a lot of work and could great increase revenues with nicer rooms and leaner operations. Building Cost is estimated around $700-$800k. I know with renovations it could be bringing in close to $1m a year in gross revenue.

There's also a 5 year old mixed use building. 48 apartments upper floors and 5 retail spaces in the bottom. Excellent location, but half of retail space has been vacant for years. I could Airbnb one floor of apartments to significantly increase NOI. Building cost is about $3m. Gross income is about $600K.

How can I take my 60k from my house and buy one do these buildings? I’m ready to hustle and make this happen!

@Luke Easley Sounds like you have a great opportunity right now.  

You appear to have the experience, but may lack the financial ability to acquire and rehab the properties. Have you considered bringing on partners to finance this? Even if you are doing all the work and all you need is a key partner to help sign on the loan as someone who has the financial backing to help you get a loan that may be sufficient.