Cheap foreclosed homes: what am I missing?

14 Replies

Hello all,

I'm trying to jump in and learn just like Josh & Brandon encourage on every podcast. I apologize for asking what's probably been asked before, but searching didn't help me nail down what I'm looking for. I'm only getting started in RE investing with a ton to learn.

When I look at various realtor or MLS listings in my area, there seem to be a number of foreclosed homes in the $30,000 range in the neighborhoods where I'm looking in southeast Michigan (not Detroit). I imagine they will all need some work, but that seems awfully inexpensive for a single family residence? The neighborhoods seem ok and clean. What am I missing?

It would certainly be easier for me to get into a $30,000 house and put in $20,000 of repairs vs trying to finance a $170,000 home. I know that it's not that simple and I know I must be missing something, or else everyone would be doing it. So what am I missing?

If this has been discussed before, I'd appreciate a link to the threads I can sink my teeth into.

Thank you, Mark

Welcome to Bigger Pockets Mark

Here is a New Investor link i created a while back to get you going in real estate investing

http://www.biggerpockets.com/forums/93/topics/1362...

Also, when doing research in your area for foreclosures, make sure you do your own homework

1.  Drive the area

2.  Talk to Brokers and Agents and get their take on the area

3.  Talk to seasoned investors who invest in the area of interest

4.  Make sure you know what the property will rent for

5.  What jobs are in the area?  

Cheaper is not always better.   

6.  Join your local real estate investment club.  They will have lots of knowledge about investing and location.  

Here is a meet up in your location.   Join up with them 

http://www.meetup.com/MegaEveningEvent-com/

Have a good 1

@Mark R.