• Raleigh, NC
Votes |
Getting started with REOs

Rashad Brooks
  • Wholesaler
  • Raleigh, NC
Posted May 4 2016, 17:51

Hey BP,

I wanted to start acquiring REOs to wholesale. Does Anybody have any advice for me dealing with REOs?

I am new to this and I am all ears. Thanks in advance for the advice!

I already have an attorney that does dry closings also, I know that is something that is very important. 

User Stats

Votes
Christopher Goldie
  • Contractor
  • Columbia, SC
Votes |
  • Contractor
  • Columbia, SC
Replied May 4 2016, 19:43

@Rashad Brooks, speaking form my personal experience wholesaling HUD properties, you have to be very careful marketing to sell. I got chewed out by a couple listing brokers when they caught me and decided it just wasn't worth the hassle anymore. Not sure of any legal ramifications, but there may be some. Now if you are actually closing and holding title to these properties then its a nonissue.

User Stats

Votes
Rashad Brooks
  • Wholesaler
  • Raleigh, NC
Votes |
  • Wholesaler
  • Raleigh, NC
Replied May 4 2016, 19:53

@Christopher Goldie Thanks for the advice. When I do this I will be only sending them directly to my buyers. 

NREIG  logo
NREIG
|
Sponsored
Customizable insurance coverage with a program that’s easy to use Add, edit, and remove properties from your account any time with no minimum-earned premiums.
Account Closed
  • Professional Investor
  • Dayton, OH
Votes |
  • Professional Investor
  • Dayton, OH
Replied May 5 2016, 07:28

The big things about REO's are the following:

• You can't assign
  • No contingencies
  • Cash only
  • Typically, $1,000 EMD minimum nonrefundable
  • Typically, short closing window - 21 days or less
  • Typically, the bank pays the commission (3%) and closing costs

User Stats

Votes
Rashad Brooks
  • Wholesaler
  • Raleigh, NC
Votes |
  • Wholesaler
  • Raleigh, NC
Replied May 5 2016, 08:01