Less than 30 days to try and help a vet in preforeclosure!

7 Replies

Hey BP,

I'm a newbie and need some help with a wholesale deal. Owner is in pre foreclosure, auction date is set Dec. 12th. Owner purchased home in 2014 and currently has it rented out to a tenet who lost their job. The bank is asking $119k to payoff or pay past due balance of $5k. The ARV for the area is $135k-145k. The house itself isn't in terrible condition, just a few cosmetic updates. The owner is in a tough situation, he's a military veteran and he's going through cancer treatments, needless to say I would love to help him out but I need some ideas. There isn't enough equity to wholesale or flip. Rental rates for the area are around $1k. If anyone has any suggestions I'm all ears! Thank you!

@Andrea Parsley for a quick response; sounds like the only option is a subject to, getting the mortgage current and renting it out again, but you may already know that. What does the seller want to do? What are they asking? Are the current occupants planning on leaving? Do they know or are related to the owner?

Hi @Andrea Parsley . Yes, this sounds like a tough situation, but the real loser here will be the tenant, not the owner, who doesn't actually live in the house.

Is the issue that the tenant is not paying rent, and therefore the owner can't pay the mortgage? If so, why hasn't the tenant been evicted? Assuming the loan payment is less than $1K, this situation has gone on for at least five months...

What I hope is not the case is that the tenant is paying rent but the owner is not making mortgage payments. That's a straight-up crime (rent-skimming) and you don't want any parts of that.

What is the actual monthly mortgage payment? If there's sufficient spread between that and fair-market rent, there might still be a deal here, even without equity.