Section 8 Question

15 Replies

If I close on a MF that has one section 8 tenant (whose lease expires at the end of April) and do not renew the lease, does that automatically mean I am agreeing to take on Section 8 going forward? The MF that I am currently purchasing has one Section 8 tenant who is paying about 1/2 of the current market rent for the area. I do not want to take Section 8 going forward so I have been holding out on closing until her lease expires and she moves out. Should I continue to wait until she is gone?

you must honor the current lease until it expires. you are under no obligation thereafter to accept Section 8 if you don't want. The Section 8 rents for the entire country are on their website at

Thanks @David Krulac I realize I have to honor the lease until it expires that's why I've been postponing my closing for over 2 months now. I don't want to take section 8 going forward so I didn't want to accept it by default by purchasing the property while there was still a tenant in place.

Gosh, close your deal! Contact the PHA or Sec 8 administrator and tell them you are withdrawing from the program but that you will be honoring the existing lease to it's maturity and not renewing. In form that tenant.

Unless there is some state law that gives a tenant the right to renew if they qualify and haven't violated a lease you aren't forced to renew with anyone.

Unless the lease has an option to renew you can terminate it.

Obviously you have preconceived notions about Sec 8, probably ill conceived. You can raise rents so long as the tenant isn't paying more than a third of their income and they pay the difference.

David put up the link, you might study the matter a little deeper. Usually properties that have had Sec 8 tenants are in the location and condition that are "in the market" of Sec 8, saying that non-Sec 8 folks might not be that interested, but that depends on the market and your property, Sec 8 can be an advantage. :)