Starting out

11 Replies

Hello,

My name is Jabari Adams. I am a current high school teacher, teaching careers, African American history and of course, entrepreneurship. I would really like to start my real estate business ASAP! It is something that I have been crazy about and researching for about 6 years. I need to take the first step and I wanted to start with multi family housing, particularly student housing. I currently live in southern New Jersey in the tri-state area. I do not have much to invest myself but I have the knowledge and determination to make this happen for my family. Has anybody had any experience in this area of investing and have advice to give? Anything would help. 

Thanks!

I'm in Northern NJ which is different in some ways.  But you really need to jump into the pool instead of just putting your toe in.  Start networking with local investors, get to know who the cash buyers/wholesalers and landlords are.   

Get on as many wholesaler lists as you can so you can see the inventory of properties out there.  Also start talking with Realtors who deal in the type of housing you are looking for.  

I don't know a lot about rentals but that is where I would start if I was at ground zero.

Hope i was at least a little helpful

@Jabari Adams  my best advice is stay on BP.  Just keep reading and interacting on the forums.  The amount of knowledge and people willing to help is second to none.   I am not familiar with the southern nj market but I do recommend you set your key alerts to "Southern NJ" or your local counties.  Thats how I found this post, I have an alert for every time someones says "New Jersey" If you ever have interest up North I will be happy to help :)

Hi @Jabari Adams  and welcome to BP!