How to Get Started in Multi-Family Homes.

9 Replies

Hi all, I am a recent college graduate (23 years old) with no student debt. I majored in finance and marketing, and I am currently a credit analyst at a local bank. Ever since I graduated, I have been educating myself as much as possible on how to create wealth in RE. I'm obsessed with it and eager to start.  The current market I live in does not offer a bunch of opportunity because it is a smaller and lower income town - I plan on moving to a city (not for sure where, but I am looking at many). In my opinion, multi-family and apartments is the way to go. I am looking for advice on how I should approach my 1st deal, as well as developing relationships with other hard-working and respectful investors. Cant wait to hear from you guys! :)

Jalen,

MF is a cash-intensive sport. Since you've just graduated, I assume your cash position is not significant. With that in mind, your best bet is to join one of the nation-wide commercial RE brokerages such as CBRE or Marcus & Millichap and become a broker. This will serve two purposes: you will meet plenty of buyers and sellers and build relationships with them while earning enough commission to save and invest later on.

To add to @Nick B. 's point, I would work on accumulating cash. Start there and invest in a duple rather than a single family or anything and live in half. The other option is to buy a single family and rent some of the bedrooms. Whatever you can do to minimize your expenses right now is probably the way to go for now.