Best Way To Get Into the Multi-family Investment Space

21 Replies

Good morning everyone!

My name is Charles Peralta and I want to break into the multi-family investment space. 

I'm currently working in the mortgage industry and will be making a move to Denver, Co next year. I wanted to see how others got started in this industry and any tips for someone who's looking to get started. I have a finance degree and dedicate serious time and effort to my sales training. With that being said, I have a lot to learn and would love to see what are some good ways to get started. Thank you in advance :)

Small MF or Med-Large(Over 5 units)?

@Charles Peralta - Look into house hacking. Great way to purchase a 2-4 unit property. Live in one unit and rent out the other. That's a very common term here on BiggerPockets. There are hundreds (if not thousands) of forum posts, blog articles, webinars, podcasts, etc. all on this concept. Familiarize yourself over the next couple of months and get it done! 

Looking forward to having you in Denver! 

Originally posted by @Matt M. :

Small MF or Med-Large(Over 5 units)?

I would like to focus on medium to large 5+ units apartment buildings. Whether syndicating or working as a broker and eventually earning enough and making enough connections to syndicate. 

Originally posted by @Craig Curelop :

@Charles Peralta - Look into house hacking. Great way to purchase a 2-4 unit property. Live in one unit and rent out the other. That's a very common term here on BiggerPockets. There are hundreds (if not thousands) of forum posts, blog articles, webinars, podcasts, etc. all on this concept. Familiarize yourself over the next couple of months and get it done! 

Looking forward to having you in Denver!