Insurance for multifamily, changing after initial quote?

3 Replies

I'm new to REI, with just two smaller multi-family deals, a 12-unit and a 24-unit. In both cases, I went thru an insurance broker and the process went like this:

Quotes came back, we accepted one. After closing and after the policy is bound, within the first month or two, the insurance company did a loss control inspection and came back with items they wanted addressed or changes to the policy based on what they found.  The specifics were different each time. In the first case, they wanted repairs we planned to do in the Summer/Fall of this year. On the most recent one (the 24-plex), I got "required recommendations" that I don't think are reasonable for the area and type of building, AND the premium went up a bit based on them changing the construction type on one of the buildings. This happened with two different carriers.

What I'm wondering is how others deal with this. Right now, it feels like my expense for insurance isn't very predictable. There's a risk they're going to come in after closing and insist on repairs or upgrades, or leave me scrambling for another carrier (who may wonder why my last carrier dropped me?) or raising the premium by $100-$200 a year after the deal has closed.

To be clear, $100-$200/year on a 24-unit place isn't making the difference between positive cash flow or not, but I'd like my numbers to be predictable before I enter into a deal and present it to my partners. Should I just be saying: "here's the insurance quote. I've added  on $300/yr and $1000 in one-time capex as because that's may be what happens?"

Part of me wonders if I'm the sucker that the table and I just don't know it.  Is this just common in commercial multi-family?

Hate to say it, but insurance rates are far from predictable.