Need help in analyzing a 6 unit property in Chicago

13 Replies

Hi BP members, I wanted to ask all of you if anyone can help me analyze this off market deal from my realtor.  Its is a legal 6 unit building in Jackson Park.  it consist of (5) 3/1.5 and (1) 2/1. Owner said it has updated electric and copper plumbing newer forced air furnaces and c/a conditioners and some more updates. 2 of the 6 units are vacant and 3 units are being rented at $900.00/month with one unit being used to house the property manager. I am new with analyzing multifamily, According to my realtor the 2 units need some rehab or updating. Tenant pays their own heat and Electric.

asking price $265,000.00

taxes $7500

Unfortunately I don't know how much the water bill and gas bill are and don't know what the extent of the rehab for the remaining 2 units.

Any advice, comment or replies to this thread will be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance for your assistance

@Oliver Santiago It's extremely hard to evaluate the property without knowing more of the expenses. Eliminating heat as an expense should make this a good cash flowing building. You need to inspect the two units that are in need of rehab and check their condition. There seems to be a conflict between the supposed great condition of the building and the low rents and vacancies. If they are giving free rent to a property manager, it shouldn't have two vacancies. 

The market is hot right now so I would try to schedule an appointment asap to go see it.

This is what I come up with base on the following assumptions:

1. $40k repair

2. 3% closing cost

3. 50% Operating Expense

This is a template I use myself, it's not proven useful/accurate. also considering all the assumptions ...

Hi Oliver, from the surface it looks like it is worth a deeper look.