Due Diligence: What is a new commercial investor likely to miss?

12 Replies

Good day everyone, I hope you had a wonderful weekend.

A thought has been running through my mind lately as I have been trying to digest as much information as I can find regarding the due diligence process for commercial multi-family units.

I am an engineer by background, and as my wife would point out, by nature I couldn't be anything else. I have to triple check all the T's for crosses and I's for dots before I will even consider thinking about moving to the next step.

I think she is embellishing a little.

Anyway, the thought that has been bothering me is that I am having trouble finding a "checklist" of due diligence items to watch for. Some obvious things are of course obvious enough even for me to see without having a giant red sign with blinking lights on it. But, I am wondering has anyone put together a basic or advanced checklist for people to get started with? I expect there are some in the "for sale - join my investing course for $2000 to $50000" packages, but I would think there has to be something out there to get started with that doesn't require 3000 hours of reading to piece-meal from 3000 topics.

At any rate, more importantly than that, for all of you heavy hitters and longtime investors that have seen it all before, what would you tell yourself to watch out for, if you could go back and tell yourself when you were just getting started to be watchful for?

I know never to trust or believe a sellers proforma or a brokers assurances that "this is a great deal"... unless you are the seller and it is your proforma of course *cough*, but what would you say are the hairiest items that people tend to miss?

Any idea?

Thanks for your indulgence.
Bob