Duplex cash flow question!

9 Replies

Hi, I am new to investing and I am looking for my second deal. There is a duplex for sale that is actually a 15 minute walk from my house. Great school district, fast growing area, pleasant middle class neighborhood. 

It is fully occupied with the leases running out in a few months. The cashflow at the current price and current rent would only be 200 a month for the entire thing, but I was wondering if it is worth it to just buy something that is immediately cash flowing day one with the intent to raise rent later, or should I keep looking for things with a higher cashflow (which seems to be difficult to accomplish right now in the DFW. My first property is fantastic, but there was a lot of luck and right place/right time on that one)

I dont mind being patient if its lower risk. I want at least 10 properties before I begin financially riskier endeavors. But I also dont want to throw my money in a cash trap. 

@Jessica Hughes

There’s some missing info...for one...what return on investment does that $2400/year in cash flow represent against your cash needed to acquire it?

How much do you feel you could increase the cash flow and how much would you have to invest to do so?

Including closing costs, about 48000. So right at 5%. The appliances, roof, AC, and flooring is all less than 5 years old, so I am talking about a duplex in good condition already. 

My first property is giving me about a 14% return on my cash, but was a lot of work. Mostly wondering if it's worth a low return for practically no work, assuming I can raise the rent maybe 25 to 50 dollars per month each year as my area gains popularity? 

Updated over 2 years ago

@Brandon hicks

Originally posted by @Brandon Hicks :

Including closing costs, about 48000. So right at 5%. The appliances, roof, AC, and flooring is all less than 5 years old, so I am talking about a duplex in good condition already.