• Cincinnati, OH
Votes |
How to Raise Private Capital - Experience with Chinese Investors

Michael Ealy
  • Developer
  • Cincinnati, OH
Posted Aug 6 2019, 11:49

One of the most common questions newbie real estate investors ask is:

"I am a newbie and I want to raise private money to buy deals. How can I do it?"

I will answer it using my personal experience. 

I started investing in 1999. I lost everything and had to re-start my investing career. But from losing everything I have now acquired over 1,000 apartment units. 

Here's my story for those who don't know me: (this is just Part 1 of a 3 part series)

https://www.biggerpockets.com/forums/55/topics/690349-from-bankruptcy-to-1-000-units-part-1-thru-the-dark-tunnel

Fast forward to today, without any advertising, I was able to get investors...even investors from China. Here's a picture:

So How Did I Do It?

1. Don't raise private money for your first deal. Buy a property on your own first. 

Why? Because, as a newbie investor, you're a high risk. You want to learn investing and make mistakes on YOUR dime not on someone else's. Good thing I did it that way though because I made mistakes, after mistakes and lost one property after another. Had I raise capital too early, I would have made my investors suffer for my mistakes.

How do you buy a property if you don't have any money? Three choices (you can do all three):
a. Learn owner financing
b. Learn how to wholesale first
c. Save enough money (I had to work 3 jobs just to save enough money for a downpayment. How badly do you want to do this?)

2. Once you've done a deal, do another deal and another.

Start small. Make a little bit of money. Roll it over to the next deal. Make a little bit more. And so on. What you want to do is establish a track record. Private capital is attracted to experience and track record.

3. Share your successes with everyone you know and everyone you meet.