How to analyze a duplex

11 Replies

A realtor has presented me with a duplex in the Nashville area. It's a pocket listing, apparently I have first look. I'm a newbie, this is my first investment. So I'm not rushing into anything.

I see a total dump, each unit will need at least kitchen remodel and bath remodel (so that's four remodeled rooms). There's a stripper pole and a sofa in one "kitchen" (not even sure it's a kitchen, I only see a stove.) Hardwood floors in other rooms seem ok. Some bizarre, 70's style interior wall surface. I just see a lot of work needed. Rents are low (870, 900) and could likely be raised with rehab. Each unit separately metered.

I realize this is limited information. Maybe you just analyze it like any other property, but what should I be looking for in terms of analyzing a duplex Thanks much! 

@Christopher Davis find out what the total cost of the property would be. Purchase price plus rehab costs. What will the ARV of the property be? How much will rent be after rehab? How long will it take to rent the property? What are the costs of your financing? How much will it cashflow?

If you aren’t already familiar with the neighborhood, I would suggest doing a neighborhood analysis as well.  Drive past the property and walk through the surrounding blocks.  What’s the average income in the area?  Is their access to public transportation?  Is there good walkability?  

These are some good questions to dive into. 

Adding to @Bill Plymouth , I'd estimate the ARV by finding comparable duplexes in that area which look pretty much exactly how this property will look after you fix it up. Your ARV would be somewhere around the price at which your comparables sold (assuming your comparables are good).

For estimating rent after rehab, try to find out what some comparable duplexes are renting for. Your realtor should also be able to help some with this.