What Is Your ONE Question About Apartment Investing?

103 Replies

If you're a newbie or beginner investor, I want to help you. 

What is the ONE question about apartment investing that you like to get answered? 

I have been buying houses and apartments since 1999 and have about 1,000 apartment units in my portfolio. So I think I can say that I know apartment investing ;)

I will answer the top 10 questions in the form of videos and blog posts.

To help me identify the top 10 questions to answer, please do 1 of 2 (or both) things below:

A. Which among the questions below is the one main question you need answered?
and

B. What other questions do you have that you want answered?

Here are the questions that appear most often on BP (just based on my observation - I did not do an actual count nor did a statistical analysis, and they're not arranged in any order):

1. I have no money and bad credit but I want to invest - how?

2. I have $100,000 - what's the best way to start?

3. The recession is coming. Should I buy now or wait?

4. I can't seem to find good deals. Help!

5. I want to start syndicating apartment deals, but how? (or How can I raise capital for my deals?)

6. Can I really buy apartments with $0 down?

7. Will you buy a property with negative cashflow?

8. Is it possible to invest passively in real estate?

9. Should I get a mentor? (or What can you say about apartment investing program of [guru]?)

10. Wife does not like me to invest in real estate. What do I do?

Kind of a variation on #1 & #5. I have excellent credit and 15 years experience with SFH, duplex & quadplex units, but the best way to find private money partners would be helpful.

A little context: the size of the first deal I want to take down is around $2 million for about 40-50 units.