I found the deal, presented it to a partner...now what?

31 Replies

I am new to multi family but not real estate.

I know a person that wants to sell their 10 unit apartment building. Great location, great price, good condition. Anyways, I do not have enough money for a 20% downpayment so I presented it to another investor I know. 

They really like the property and want to buy it, however, I think they want more of a 50/50 partner as far as putting the money down to buy the property. I could put maybe 10% of the required amount down to help. They are offering a finders fee but I would really like to own a piece of the equity, EVEN IF it is just a very small percentage. I dont really want a fee. I want to build my portfolio. Is this possible? What should I do?

Thanks!!

@John James yes it’s possible, but look at the from the other investors perspective. They’d have to deal with a minority partner and that can complicate things a lot both tax wise, and with decision making.

Let’s say you own 10 percent of the equity. Are you going to have any operational decision authority? If you don’t, then how would that work? Are you going to contribute 10 percent of the on-going costs? Property doesn’t always cash flow. Personally I would take the fee and move on

@Caleb Heimsoth I agree, although it may not seem like the ideal thing to do. Don’t get emotionally attached to the deal just because it may be a good one. More good deals will come in the future. Best to accept the fee and learn from the process as well as add to your reserves for future investments you may be able to do without a partner. Just my opinion.

@Caleb Heimsoth Not sure what you mean by if I own 10% of the equity, am I going to contribute 10% of the costs? I would be expecting the monthly cash flow to be spit up, which expenses are already deducted by the time you receive cash flow.