• Rental Property Investor
  • Ann Arbor, MI
Votes |
Sophisticated investor in syndication dilemma

Evan Loader
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Ann Arbor, MI
Posted Jul 3 2020, 23:52

I have been investing in private multifamily syndications for about 18 months. It was a great deal for me because I live/work overseas as a defense contractor supporting the US Navy. I want to participate in multifamily real estate but have been too busy and I am away from home too often to buy something directly. I save an outsize portion of my income as I have very few expenses with my company covering almost all of my costs, so syndications were a perfect way to get some cash flow, appreciation upside and enjoy the tax benefits of depreciation without having to buy/manage/rehab on my own. I also love the structure of a limited partner, in that you can lose your investment but wouldn't be exposed to liability beyond that. I've invested in 4 properties with good results so far, all properties are performing at or above projections even through the pandemic. 

The issue is I am still only a sophisticated investor. I am not yet accredited with a NW of $1 million(conservatively I am probably 3-4 yrs away from achieving that milestone), and the alternate  avenue to be accredited(2 yrs of income above $200k) wouldn't work for me since my tax return makes it look like I earn substantially less than I do due to the foreign earned income exclusion. The dilemma is I am earning very good money but am not yet accredited to participate in 506c deals, or even 506b deals by sponsors who only take accredited investors.