Out of State Co-GP on a MF Syndication?

12 Replies

Hi! I am studying to become a General Partner for Syndicating (60-120 unit) apartment deals. I want to begin in Dallas, TX where my MF mentor and mentoring group are based. (Why reinvent the wheel, right?) Anyway, I have received some doubt and concern from a few of my investor friends about being able to effectively GP a deal out of state (I am in Michigan). I am wondering if any other GPs have successfully syndicated deals OOS? I would love to hear your input! Thank you!

I told my friends that my plan is to partner with someone local and plan on flying down there every 60 days or so if needed. Still, they questioned me on what I could really bring to the co-GP table being OOS. Should I be worried about this? Thanks!

(FYI, Neither them nor I have ever syndicated a deal before. Also, I have experience in the SF flip and rental space and experience running small businesses)

Thank you so much! :)

Plenty of investors including GPs on syndications do OOS deals.  I'm no expert...never plan to be a GP at this point, but am LP.  I think you have to think about what skills you bring to the deal as a GP.....is that underwriting, capital raising, finding deals and putting them under contract, operating the business plan, handling investor relations, or some other part of the process.   What is your skill, what is your strength?   Most of that does not have to be local to a deal.  Sometimes I think it helps a lot to know the market, know what you are buying, and knowing the nuances....like which school district you want to be in, what side of the tracks are the good/bad areas, is one area better or sell for more than another area....you have to know what is a deal or not a deal...that's often tougher to do long distance I think....