New construction -first crack at developing

8 Replies

I own a lot in fishtown where new construction sells high.

It would be cool to build and sell but I've never done that before. My experience is limited to rehab/renovation.

I own the lot but would have to finance the construction.

What should I be doing and I. What order? I know I need to secure financing, find an architect, and a reputable general contractor.

If you know of anyone who can help I would appreciate their contact information in a private message.

Lot is 14x63, zoned rsa5 single family residential. It is adjacent to a rental I own with an FHA loan, so I expect that a refinance on that would be part of the process.

I used to build homes. If you are hiring a GC and an architect, I am not sure you will realize much profit in your venture. Have you looked into something like YouBuildIt.com?  They walk you through the process and supply the knowledge, from what I understand. I have never used them so I do not warrant their capabilities. 

The lot is 14' x 63' correct? That is 882 Sqft. First I would look into the requirements in that zoned area such as how far a home must be from property lines and then how far it must be off of the road or ally. After you subtract those distances from the lot there may not be a lot of room left to build. Are you sure it is 14 x 63?

@Blake Taelman thanks for the advice.

I have not heard of that site but will check it out.

I have received offers between 45-55k for the lot so maybe selling it will be a better option. I still want to look into developing it as the comps sell around 360k.