What are you looking for in a Real Estate Agent?

6 Replies

Good Morning All,

I am a new member of a real estate team in Kansas City. I was brought on to build relationships with investors, builders, and developers. One of the complaints I have often heard is that most real estate agents are only concerned about retail buying and selling customers who will probably only have three real estate transactions in their lifetime. That means that MOST real estate agents don’t understand the needs of investors, builders, and developers. So I am asking the question...

What are you looking for in a real estate agent?

Our team is looking to build a customizable system that makes us an asset to investors, builders, and developers... Not just another headache. Please feel free to comment and share your experiences and let me know what you wish your real estate agent knew about your business.

Thanks!

Keep in mind that while I have 3 pieces of property, I'm new to the concept of really buying as an investor.  That being said, I plan to do things very differently and hope I can find a willing agent for my next transaction.

I want an agent who understands that I can't pay full price if the numbers don't work out (and they usually don't at full price).  I want an agent who understands that more of my offers will be rejected than accepted. 

Brandon says only about 10% of his offers are accepted.  Recently another BP member was having issues with their agent because they were trying to give offers at 80-90% of value and the agent said they were low balling and demanded a $5000 retainer (or something), plus that they sign an exclusive contract (which I understand is more normal than when I last bought).