Developing land for townhomes

13 Replies

Hi everyone, we are analyzing the development and townhome construction on a 2 acres piece of land in the greater Atlanta area. Utilities are available in the road in front of land. 

Questions I have (and I am in the process of consulting a couple of engineering and development companies):

- What is the average cost to develop a land for townhomes? This land is zoned for 8 THs per acre so estimate to have no more than 12-16 units.

- will we have to subdivide the land during development? What are the estimated costs in Atlanta for that? 

- Where can I get references for good small developers in the area?

Thanks once advance!

Sara

Hi @Sara Als. ,

Congrats on your project! It's really hard to answer the cost aspect because every region of the country is different and it varies by finishes and required material by the city. I invest in Atlanta w/ a partner so I have some very rough basic knowledge of it. I would guess somewhere btwn $120-150/sf but take that with a lot of salt. Soft cost like architect, permits etc I would maybe budget another $20/sf.

I would start w/ the architects, talk to three or more, get an idea on the soft costs, and ask them for referrals for developers or construction companies. Again 3-4 is ideal so you have a good set of data point.

As to subdivide or not, that's up to you or what the market dictates. There are some townhomes essentially they're condos w/ HOAs so the owners own air rights and exclusive use etc. Some are fee simple townhomes. I would take a look on what's selling around your area and model after that.

Feel free to DM me if there's any questions you think I can help answer.

Hi Sara,

We can help you with the construction of your town homes just let us know when you are ready for pricing.

Thanks

Robert

Thanks @Jason Hsiao .   For the townhomes and area we are in, I believe $120/sf for construction is too much. I hopefully want to be around $85-$95/sq.