Build-to-Rent in Florida

8 Replies

I’ve been investing in rentals for the last 15 years with properties in CA, GA, and FL and recently been purchasing single family, duplexes and quads in the central Florida area and now researching the Build-to-Rent model. My thought is that if can build under 150/ft and keep the total cost in low 200s, the initial cash-flow/return will not be great but can make up for it with scalability, low maintenance and better appreciation. I’m currently focusing on the Corridor between Tampa and Orlando (Lake Land area) and would love to hear everyone’s thoughts on this strategy.

@Allen Motakef sounds like a great model, but seems (to me) difficult to do if you are not local. There are so many hurdles with environmental, permitting, engineering, working with city and/or county, finding a GC that you can trust with everything etc. Also, you are speculating to some degree as from start to finish could be 8-12 months from land acquisition to getting your CO, tying up your money for a long period.

A lot of Polk is zoned minimum 5 acre lots when you get in the more rural areas and Lakeland can be hit or miss in regards to the 'class' of the area. There is definitely a need and if you have the resources to put it all together, I think you would do well.

Keep me posted, I may have some good contacts for you in Lakeland.

Originally posted by @Allen Motakef :

I’ve been investing in rentals for the last 15 years with properties in CA, GA, and FL and recently been purchasing single family, duplexes and quads in the central Florida area and now researching the Build-to-Rent model. My thought is that if can build under 150/ft and keep the total cost in low 200s, the initial cash-flow/return will not be great but can make up for it with scalability, low maintenance and better appreciation. I’m currently focusing on the Corridor between Tampa and Orlando (Lake Land area) and would love to hear everyone’s thoughts on this strategy.